Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service

Safer Together – Working in Partnership

Northern Ireland Fire & Rescue Service (NIFRS) welcomes the assistance of partnership agencies to identify people at risk so that we can provide enhanced assistance to those who need our help the most.

This is because we fully recognise that a referral by a partnership agency is the best way for NIFRS to identify those most at risk in the community.

Arrangements are made by signing a partnership agreement for the mutual benefit of both agencies.

People at risk

We define people at risk as persons who:

  • are aged 50 or older;
  • have a disability or impaired mobility*; or
  • are referred to NIFRS by a partnership agency.

*includes people with a health condition that would impact on their ability to acknowledge and respond to an emergency in the home.

NIFRS will also accept referrals for people who fall outside of this definition but who may also be at risk.  Each referral will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.

We Offer Free of Charge:

  • Home Fire Safety Checks – this is a visit to the home to offer detailed fire safety advice and ensure that the home is fitted with a working smoke alarm.
  • Talks to People at Risk Groups – this is a visit where a talk is delivered to detail how to stay safe from fire in the home.

How do you make contact with the Prevention Team:

A partnership agreement can be developed, or a talk to a people at risk group can be requested, by an email request to partnerships@nifrs.org, or by phone call to 028 9266 4221, or by letter to The Partnership Co-ordinator, NIFRS Headquarters, 1 Seymour Street, Lisburn, BT27 4SX.

If you are an existing partner and need to get in touch with the Partnership Lead Officer in your area, contact your nearest District Office and ask for a member of the Prevention & Protection Team. District Office telephone numbers and email addresses are as follows (please note, District Offices operate Monday – Friday, 09:00-17:00.  If you require advice outside of these times, please call – 028 9266 4221):-

Ballymena

Telephone:    028 2564 3370
Email:            ballymena.district@nifrs.org

Bangor

Telephone:    028 9127 1906
Email:            bangor.district@nifrs.org

Belfast (South & East)

Telephone:    028 9047 3189
Email:            s&e.district@nifrs.org

Belfast (North & West)

Telephone:    028 9075 4776
Email:            n&w.district@nifrs.org

Coleraine

Telephone:    028 7082 5830
Email:            coleraine.district@nifrs.org

Cookstown

Telephone:    028 8676 5936
Email:            cookstown.district@nifrs.org

Downpatrick

Telephone:    028 4483 9308
Email:            downpatrick.district@nifrs.org

Enniskillen

Telephone:    028 6634 6946
Email:            enniskillen.district@nifrs.org

Glengormley

Telephone:    028 9084 0225
Email:            glengormley.district@nifrs.org

Lisburn

Telephone:    028 9260 3360
Email:             lisburn.district@nifrs.org

Londonderry

Telephone:    028 7131 1162
Email:             londonderry.district@nifrs.org

Newry

Telephone:    028 3083 5633
Email:            newry.district@nifrs.org

Omagh

Telephone:    028 8224 1190
Email:            omagh.district@nifrs.org

Portadown

Telephone:   028 3833 3818
Email:            portadown.district@nifrs.org

 

 

 

 

Covid-19 NIFRS Response

Safety Check

Job Vacancies

Stop Fire

Road Safety