Northern Ireland Fire and Rescue Service

Southern Area

Southern Area Command covers an area of approximately 1462 square miles serving a population of around 580,000 people.  This area encompasses all of Co. Armagh and Co. Down.

The Area is managed by the Area Command Team who are based in Southern Area Headquarters which is located in Portadown.  The Area Command Team is assisted by 4 District Command Teams based in Portadown, Bangor, Newry and Downpatrick.  Each District has between 5-7 Fire Stations to manage.  Of the 23 Fire Stations in Southern, 17 are operated by On-Call personnel and the other 6 by Wholetime and On-Call personnel.  Southern Area have approximately 500 personnel serving the Community.


Contact Details

Southern Area Command Headquarters

Thomas Street Portadown BT62 3AH

Telephone: 02838 332222



Portadown District Headquarters

Thomas Street Portadown BT62 3AH

Telephone: 02838 394690



Bangor District Headquarters

92 Newtownards Road Bangor BT19 1SZ

Telephone: 02891 271906



Newry District Headquarters

6 Upper Edward Street Newry BT35 6AX

Telephone: 02830 835633



Downpatrick District Headquarters

Downshire Civic Centre Downshire Estate Ardglass Road Downpatrick BT30 6RA

Telephone: 02844 839308


Covid-19 NIFRS Response

Safety Check

Job Vacancies

Stop Fire

Road Safety